Databases

OCAC subscribes to a number of excellent databases that are available to students, staff and faculty. Please contact the library for usernames and passwords for each. 

 

artstor.png Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 3.04.45 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 3.13.26 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 3.20.49 PM.png
Language_Learning_whole_family_200-x-150.png Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 3.22.37 PM.png
Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 3.26.16 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 3.33.15 PM.png

 

 

Descriptions: 

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 2.58.08 PM_0.png

ARTStor offers access to over 1 million images compiled from a variety of academic institutions and museum collections. Images from ARTStor may be used for study, research, and classroom presentations. To create your personal account, you must FIRST register from any OCAC networked computer. Follow the link above and select "Register/Login". Once you have created a username and password on campus, you may access the database from anywhere you have an internet connection. Logins expire after 120 days, after which you will need to return to campus to set up an account again.

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 3.04.45 PM.pngArt & Archtecture Source database offers full text abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications--now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian, and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. The database features high quality indexing of periodicals as far back as 1984, in-depth (50 to 300 words) abstracts written by Wilson staff for every article indexed, full text articles as far back as 1997 and coverage of fine, decorative, and commercial art. Follow the link and input:

  • USERNAME: HSPO82NP (Case Sensitive)
  • PASSWORD: please see the librarian 

 

Screen Shot 2016-11-15 at 3.13.26 PM.pngOxford Art Online (Grove) Art Online contains the full-text of the The Dictionary of Art (ed.Jane Turner, 1996) --the landmark encyclopedia of world art from prehistory to present in over 45,000 articles. Since its launch in 1998, Grove Art Online has added over 700 new articles and over 5,500 updated articles. Grove Art Online also includes all 2,800 articles from The Oxford Companion to Western Art [OCWA] (ed. Hugh Brigstock, 2001) and continues to offer new content and revisions on a quarterly basis. Grove Art Online offers over 1500 color images and line drawings; links to the Art Resources searchable image database; and links to over 40,000 images on museum and gallery websites. For copyright reasons, Grove Art Online cannot publish all of the images in the print edition online. Follow the link above and input:

  • USERNAME: orecac
  • PASSWORD: please see the librarian

 

The Journal of Modern Craft Online 

In addition to the print version, our subscription also allows online searching of full text articles published to TJoMC. Go the the website above to search this title. From any computer on campus, you will not need to login, from off campus, you will be promted to login.

  • USERNAME: OCACuser
  • PASSWORD: please see the librarian 

 

Databases available from the Washington County Cooperative Library Services 

You can also access MANY wonderful databases through WCCLS, if you have your library card handy! Come and see the librarian if you have questions about how to get logged on, or what databases might be best for your research. 

  Interested in learning a language? Check out Mango Languages from the WCCLS library. Bring your library card and PIN (don't know your PIN? Try the last 4 digits of your phone number, and if that doesn't work, contact the library). 

 

small_downloadlynda.jpeg

Lynda.com leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.